Friday, June 21, 2024

Prominent figures appointed to Chancellor’s Advisory Board for the first time


UC Santa Cruz Chancellor Cynthia Larive has established an external Chancellor’s Advisory Board to advance the university’s mission and broaden its impact. Comprised of thought leaders from various fields known for their expertise and success, the board will provide advice on emerging research areas and programs to expand the university’s reach.

The diverse perspectives of board members aim to deepen connections with existing partners, develop new collaborations, and identify strategies to amplify the university’s strengths. Chancellor Larive emphasized the importance of external input in widening the institution’s influence and transforming student lives for the better.

The inaugural 14 members of the UC Santa Cruz Chancellor’s Advisory Board include notable figures such as Raquel Arias, Anna Escobedo Cabral, and Bud Colligan. Larive expressed gratitude for their willingness to support the university’s work.

UC Santa Cruz is recognized as a leading research university committed to student success and access. Faculty members are at the forefront of innovation, making significant contributions to society and technology. The university is a member of the Association of American Universities and has joined the Alliance of Hispanic Serving Research Universities to increase opportunities for underserved communities.

The formation of the advisory board follows the completion of the UC Santa Cruz Strategic Plan, outlining academic and programmatic goals for the next decade. Chancellor Larive believes this is the right time to pursue new initiatives and leverage the expertise of board members to further advance the university.

The Chancellor’s Advisory Board will work alongside other external advisory boards on campus to enhance the university’s impact and foster continued growth and success.

Read more

Local News